It's Not Magic, It's Science!

BLOG: It's Not Magic, It's Science: Pendulum Rides

https://www.visitkingsisland.com/blog/2021/february/its-not-magic-its-science-pendulum-rides

IT'S NOT MAGIC, IT'S SCIENCE: PENDULUM RIDES

February 28, 2021

Nikki Lee
Youth Sales Representative - Kings Island
viking1400.jpg

Hi everyone! My name is Nikki Lee and I’m the Youth Sales Representative at Kings Island. Kings Island started as my very first job and I’m now on my 11th season at the park.

I’ve worked in various positions during my time here but being the Youth Sales Representative has truly been the most fulfilling. After all, I get to sell FUN for a living, and I have the chance to help create memorable experiences for our youth. I am responsible for all youth programming and K-12 youth group visits to Kings Island. This includes all educational and STEAM based programs such as Engineering Day; performance groups such as marching bands, dance teams and choirs; and just-for-fun trips too! If it involves youth – I am most likely your person.

Over the past few months, I’ve had the opportunity to talk with many of our educators and partners about their experiences during these changing times. Therefore, we know that keeping students interested and engaged can be a challenge. That is why we partnered with our sister park Cedar Point, Rockwell Automation and Global STEM Ambassador, Jay Flores, to share a five-part video series, It’s Not Magic, It’s Science!

These videos can be used in both in-person and remote settings and believe me when I tell you, they are FUN to watch! Each video consists of 3 parts: the Experiment, the Explanation and the Exploration. In the Experiment segment, you’ll see Jay conduct a real scientific experiment. In the Explanation, he’ll cover the scientific principles and properties involved and, in the Exploration, you’ll see the science applied to one of your favorite amusement park rides.